Linux OS support (RR-784)

• Hi, I really wish you had support for linux-based OS. My computer is xubuntu, and so I had to borrow a friend's MAC for a day before my 7 day trial ran out. With only one day to make the video, it limited my ability to try it out. 

As a marketing consultant, I would totally buy the Pro Version so that I could provide video service to my clients, but... no can do. 

I don't know what it takes to make videoscribe compatible with linux, but I encourage you to look into it.

Cheers!

6 people like this idea
  • Hi Emma, thanks for your idea.

There are currently no plans to have a Linux version for VideoScribe.

This may change if Linux based operating systems become significantly 

more popular than they are now.

We cannot provide support for it but I do know some users have had some success running VideoScribe via 

WINE on their Linux computers.

Thanks, Joe

• Hi Joe, 

I also run Ubuntu on my primary machine, it is a real hassle coming to OSX or to my Windows machine to create scribes - if you guys provided a Linux version then I would definitely be using VideoScribe more than I do and I would recommend it much more than I currently do. 

Linux is becoming important in the professional video workflow, you can see this with Lightworks being available on Linux for example. Where Linux will most likely never be the most popular OS for desktop users, many companies are starting to see that distributing to the platform has significant benefits as it is becoming more and more popular and important. 

I believe the real reason Linux is not included is Adobe AIR does not support it and this is the platform Sparkol uses to develop VideoScribe. 

Anyway, that is my 2 cents on this one. 

Cheers,

Ryan

• Thanks for your feedback Ryan.

I personally was not aware that Linux is not supported by Adobe Air.
    It has not been suggested to me that this is the reason why we do not support Linux but could be quite