VideoScribe Help

Merge two scribes into one (old version)

Last updated: 25 September 2017


If you have separate VideoScribe projects that you would like to combine you can achieve this. All you need to do is copy the elements out of one project and paste them into another.


Please note: This method will only merge the elements from the timeline. Settings such as the voiceover, soundtrack and canvas texture/colour will not be moved. Your merged scribe will retain the settings of the second project by following these steps. 

If you would prefer not to merge your projects in VideoScribe you could publish both of your projects to a video file and then use video editing software to combine them.

Step 1. Select the first project you would like to merge from the project screen (A). This will bring up the Open Scribe box and you can click the tick to open the project (B).

Step 2. Select all the items in your project by pressing Ctrl+A (Windows PC) or Command+A (Mac). Now they are all highlighted (A) click the copy button (B).

Step 3. Exit your using the back arrow (A). You will be asked if you want to save the changes you have made and you can click the tick to save (B) or click Go back without saving (C) if you do not want to save.

Step 4. Back on the project screen select the second project you would like to merge from the project screen (A). This will bring up the Open Scribe box and you can click the tick to open the project (B).

Step 5. Paste your copied images from the first project into the second project (A).

It is likely that your images will be pasted over the top of each other… don’t worry step 6 will show you how to fix this. 

Step 6. Select the elements you have just pasted by holding down Ctrl (Windows PC) or Command (Mac) and clicking on them in the timeline (A). Once they are all selected you can drag them to an empty area of the canvas using the mouse or the arrow keys on the keyboard (B)

At this point we would recommend that you preview your scribe (C) as you moved items around the canvas and you may need to reset your camera positions

Step 7. Now you are happy with the placement of your merged images and camera positions you can save your work (A). If you want to save this as a new project just simply change the scribe name (B) before clicking the tick (C) to complete the save. 

Step 8. As I renamed the file before saving you can see that I now have the merged project available as a separate project (A).


Did you find it helpful? Yes No

Can you please tell us how we can improve this article?

Related articles