Emergency backup

Last updated 2019-12-19 15:42:37 +0000

This article will go through how you can recover your emergency backup from a crash.


VideoScribe can take an emergency back-up of your work every at regular intervals, so if your computer crashes you can restore most of the work you were doing. This is not an auto-save feature. It is still recommended to routinely save your scribes. 

You can change the frequency of the Emergency Back-up and even turn it off completely from your VideoScribe user preferences. The default emergency backup time is set to three minutes. 

To recover your emergency backup from a crash:

Step 1. Open VideoScribe

Step 2. A message will appear stating ‘Unsaved Changes - There were unsaved changes when VideoScribe last shut down, do you want to recover your project?’ 

Click the tick icon (A), and your scribe will load. 

You will also have the option to reject the back-up using the ‘X’ button, but this will delete the backup resulting in your work being lost. 

To change the frequency of your emergency back-up:

Step 1. Open VideoScribe

Step 2. On the project screen, click on the cog icon in the bottom left corner (A) of the projects screen

Step 2. Click the +/- icons next to ‘Emergency Backup’ (B) to increase and decrease the timing of your Emergency Backup. Click the tick icon to save the changes (C).

Did you find it helpful? Yes No

Send feedback
Sorry we couldn't be helpful. Help us improve this article with your feedback.